Jul 28, 2017
AFE Awards Scholarships for 2017

The American Floral Endowment (AFE) has awarded 20 students with scholarships totaling $36,500. Sixty applications were received for the 2017 scholarship cycle.

“We had many outstanding students apply for scholarships this year, which is why some scholarships were awarded to two recipients,” said Dwight Larimer, AFE Chairman and Education Committee Chair.

AFE awards scholarships annually, and applications are due by May 1 of each year. Scholarship descriptions are available at http://endowment.org/scholarships.

Scholarships and recipients are listed below.

American Florists’ Exchange Scholarship — $2,200
Recipient: Summer Blanco, California State Polytechnic University – Pomona

Julio and Sarah Armellini Scholarship — $2,100
Recipient: Noah Boulds, Murray State University

Ball Horticultural Company Scholarship — $1,000
Recipient: Melissa Eggleston, Michigan State University

Harold Bettinger Scholarship — $1,900
Recipient: Melinda Knuth, Texas A&M University

BioWorks IPM/Sustainable Practices Scholarship — $1,200 ($600 split between two students)
Recipients: Emily Perry, University of Massachusetts – Amherst and Benjamin Meeks, University of Tennessee – Knoxville

James Bridenbaugh Memorial Scholarship — $400
Recipient: Katelyn Stoops, University of Missouri

John Carew Memorial Scholarship — $1,900
Recipient: Emily Teng, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Carlson-Johnson Scholarship for Nontraditional Students — $1,100
Recipient: Brittany Farmer, College of Southern Nevada

Earl Dedman Memorial Scholarship — $1,900
Recipient: Ruqayah Bhuiyan, University of Georgia

Long Island Flower Growers Association (LIFGA) Scholarship — $1,300
Recipient: Sean Halliwell, Farmingdale State College

Richard T. Meister Scholarship — $3,900
Recipient: Nathan Nordstedt, The Ohio State University

National Greenhouse Manufacturers Association (NGMA) Scholarship — $500
Recipient: Jean Yost, University of Georgia

Mike and Flo Novovesky Scholarship — $2,500
Recipient: Sophia McCusker, North Carolina State University

Lawrence “Bud” Ohlman Memorial Scholarship — $1,000
Recipient: Krishna Bhattarai, University of Florida

James K. Rathmell, Jr. Memorial Scholarship for Horticultural Work/Study Abroad — $3,300
Recipient: Paul Bartley, North Carolina State University

Seed Companies Scholarship — $2,300
Recipient: Drew Groezinger, Highland Community College

John L. Tomasovic Sr. Scholarship — $1,000
Recipient: Emily Currens, University of Georgia

Edward Tuinier Memorial Scholarship — $4,400 ($2,200 split between two students)
Recipients: Melissa Eggleston and Anthony Soster, Michigan State Universit

Jacob and Rita Van Namen Marketing Scholarship — $1,100
Recipient: Megan Haresnape, Kansas State University

Vocational (Bettinger, Holden and Perry) Scholarship – $1,500
Recipient: Drew Groezinger, Highland Community College


Get fast and free information about the products and services featured within the magazine »
75 Applewood Drive, Suite A
PO Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345
June 2018 Cover
Get one year of Lawn & Garden Retailer in both print and digital editions for free.
Preview our digital edition »

Interested in reading the print edition of Lawn & Garden Retailer?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.