Jan 25, 2021
AmericanHort Now Accepting Board Nominations

The AmericanHort Board of Directors recently announced the application period for the 2021 board of director nominations is now open. Applications are being accepted until Feb. 19 from AmericanHort members interested in being nominated for the AmericanHort board of directors’ election. Elections will take place over four weeks beginning in March.

AmericanHort supports more than 16,500 members and affiliated businesses that include breeders, greenhouse and nursery growers, garden retailers, distributors, interior and exterior landscape professionals, florists, students, educators, researchers, manufacturers, and all of those who are part of the industry market chain. “We welcome industry members who will help us strategically prepare the association to best meet industry needs now and into the future,” said Ken Fisher, CEO and president of AmericanHort. “We are grateful for those who have served in this volunteer capacity helping to make AmericanHort the organization we are today.”

“Serving on the AmericanHort board of directors is a rewarding way to give back to the industry and help shape the future,” said Tom Hughes, board chairman. “I have learned a lot from being involved from being on the AmericanHort board the past three plus years. My experience as a nurseryman and landscaper has been beneficial to the organization as we continue to grow and enhance the association’s service to the industry.”

In addition to Tom Hughes of Hughes Nursery and Landscaping LLC, who serves as board chairman, nominating committee members, are Ken Fisher of AmericanHort; Cole Mangum of Bell Nursery USA LLC is vice chairman; Susie Raker-Zimmerman of Raker Roberta’s Young Plants is immediate past chairman; and J. Harvey Cotten Jr. is treasurer.

Current board of directors’ members are Gerry Docksteader, Advanced Horticultural Solutions; Mike Gooder, Plantpeddlar; Joe Hobson, Midwest Trading Horticultural Supplies Inc; Rob Lando, AgriNomix; Chris McCorkle, McCorkle Nurseries Inc.; Amy Morris, N. G. Heimos Greenhouses; Ed Overdevest, Overdevest Nurseries LP; Jon Reelhorn, Belmont Nursery, and Jonathan Saperstein, Everde Growers.

Only owners and employees of Class A Member Companies (Basic, Plus, and Premium Company Members) or Class B Members (individuals engaged in academic studies or in the horticulture industry as a profession but not affiliated with a company qualifying for Class A membership) may apply for nomination to be elected to the board. Once the slate of nominees is presented by the nominating committee, the voting period will open to AmericanHort member companies beginning on March 8. Voting will close on April 2.

For more details or to access the nomination form, visit, or contact immediate past chairman of the board, Susie Raker-Zimmerman at [email protected] or contact the AmericanHort office at 614.487.1117.



Get fast and free information about the products and services featured within the magazine »
Get one year of Lawn & Garden Retailer in both print and digital editions for free.

Subscribe Today »

Interested in reading the print edition of Lawn & Garden Retailer? Preview our digital edition »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.