Jan 28, 2020
AmericanHort Board of Directors Nominations Being Accepted

The AmericanHort Board of Directors recently announced the application period for the 2020 board of director nominations is now open. Applications are being accepted until Feb. 21 from AmericanHort members interested in being nominated for the AmericanHort board of directors’ election. Elections will take place from March 9 to April 3.

AmericanHort supports nearly 15,000 members and affiliated businesses that include breeders, greenhouse and nursery growers, garden retailers, distributors, interior and exterior landscape professionals, florists, students, educators, researchers, manufacturers, and all of those who are part of the industry market chain.

“We welcome industry members who will help us strategically prepare the association to best meet industry needs in the future,” explains Ken Fisher, CEO and president of AmericanHort. “We are grateful for those who have served in this volunteer capacity helping to make AmericanHort the organization we are today.”

“Serving on the AmericanHort board of directors is a rewarding way to give back to the industry and help shape the future,” said Susie Raker-Zimmerman, board chairwoman. “I have learned a lot from being involved with OFA, the preceding organization, and from being on the AmericanHort board the past five years. I believe my experience as a young plant grower has been beneficial to the organization as we continue to grow and enhance the association’s service to the industry.”

In addition to Raker-Zimmerman who serves as board chairwoman, executive committee members are Tom Hughes, Hughes Nursery & Landscaping LLC, vice chairman; Mike Klopmeyer, Ph.D., Ball FloraPlant, immediate past chairman; and Lisa Graf, Graf Growers, treasurer, and Ken Fisher.

Current board of directors members are Steve Castorani, North Creek Nurseries, Inc.; Bob Dickman, Dickman Farms LLC; Gerry Docksteader, industry professional; Joe Hobson, Midwest Trading Horticultural Supplies Inc; Rob Lando, AgriNomix; Cole Mangum, Bell Nursery USA LLC; Chris McCorkle, McCorkle Nurseries Inc; Amy Morris, N. G. Heimos Greenhouses; and Jon Reelhorn, Belmont Nursery.

Only owners and employees of Class A Member Companies (Basic, Plus, and Premium Company Members) or Class B Members (individuals engaged in academic studies or in the horticulture industry as a profession but not affiliated with a company qualifying for Class A membership) may submit an application for nomination to be elected to the board. Once the slate of nominees is presented by the board leadership committee, the voting period will open to AmericanHort member companies on March 9. Voting will close on April 3, 2020.

Board terms for Mangum, Castorani, and Klopmeyer expire in July 2020. New board members will be installed during the business meeting at Cultivate’20, the premier all-industry tradeshow hosted by AmericanHort each July in Columbus, OH.

For more details visit AmericanHort.org/elections, or contact the immediate past chairman of the board, Mike Klopmeyer at [email protected] or contact the AmericanHort office at 614.487.1117.



Get fast and free information about the products and services featured within the magazine »
Get one year of Lawn & Garden Retailer in both print and digital editions for free.
Preview our digital edition »

Interested in reading the print edition of Lawn & Garden Retailer?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check
out our sister site.