Jan 16, 2024
Proven Winners reveals 2023 scholarship winners

As part of its mission to support the future of the green industry, Proven Winners announces the winners of its 2023 scholarship program. The recipients were chosen for their passion for the industry and demonstrated excellence in their respective fields of study.

This is the ninth year Proven Winners has enjoyed helping horticulture students advance their education in the horticulture field. Once again, the applicants have impressed and inspired the selection committee.

“This year’s scholarship recipients show us that the future of horticulture is bright,” said Kevin Hurd, Proven Winners vice president of product development. “We’re excited to follow their journeys and see their future contributions to the industry.”

This year, Proven Winners renamed its grower scholarship as the Rick Schoellhorn Grower Excellence Scholarship in honor of Richard Kent Schoellhorn, retired director of new products, who passed late last year. The scholarship memorializes Rick’s passion for horticulture as an educator, consultant, speaker and consummate plantsman.


Proven Winners Innovations in Horticultural Marketing Scholarship

Maci Carter, University of Delaware


Rick Schoellhorn Grower Excellence Scholarship

Jackson Bobo, North Carolina State University Ph.D. student


Ushio Sakazaki Innovations in Plant Breeding Scholarship

Brooks Parrish, University of Florida


Proven Winners Technical or 2-Year Post-Secondary Institution Scholarship

Catherine Shook, Chattahoochee Technical College


For information on the 2024 Proven Winners Scholarship Program, visit
provenwinners.com/scholarship. Applications are due by April 15.